Just The Chorus

The other day my wife and I were in the car listening to a CD I made, because I make the best mix CD’s ever. I know you think you or your significant other does, but I make the best mix tapes ever. . . Where was I. . . in the car. Listening to the best CD ever and a Counting Crows song comes on. My wife and I are singing along, just belting out the chorus. If I hadn’t of had my seat belt on I would have been dancing my monkey butt off. Brighton is in the back of the van dieing of embarrassment, and the other three kids are just happy to be there.

As the song goes on, it comes to the second verse, and we both start slacking our singing. Why? in about 2 seconds we both sing two COMPLETELY different lines. Over a decade of knowing this song, and here we are with two different versions of the song. Turns out – we both just really enjoy belting the chorus out. The middle part, not so much.

Here is a list of songs I have been singing wrong for, like, ever.

Slam by Onyx

Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana (here we are now, in containers. . .)

ANY SONG by Busta Rhymes

In Da Club by 50 Cent

So Whatcha Want by The Beastie Boys

OPP by Naughty By Nature

30% of the verses in any AC/DC song (she was a fax machine, she kept her modem clean. . .)

I’ve got the chorus down on these songs, it’s just the verses. Which has to just piss off the artists. They spend all the time creating this story, and setting it to music. Making sure it rhymes or makes sense, keeping rhythm with the words and music and all I want to do is scream WITH THE LIGHTS OUT, IT’S LESS DANGEROUS!!! I don’t care who loaded up on gum or who’s little group will procreate (whatever the hell they are singing about). You know it wouldn’t kill Eddie Vedder to enunciate every now and then. But I can admit that there are times where I sound like Miley Cyrus cracked out on Salvia mumbling the verse just to get to the chorus of a song.

If you do catch me singing a lyric wrong, I will just ask you what you think it is before I tell you what I just mumbled. I was amazed when I read the lyric sheet for Bohemian Rhapsody. I had no idea that for the years prior I had invented my own lyrics and was publicly singing them. What surprises me more is the fact that I have been with my wife over 8 years, and we just barely came across this phenomenon. I’m just glad I have someone to sing my versions along with.

Tags: ,

About Zero Brass

Don't Worry About It

Leave a Reply

