The Runaway Note

When you feel overwhelmed and unsure about your parenting skills, take comfort that somewhere, someone is doing it worse than you. Like me. While cleaning the house the other day, my  wife found one of our daughters old notebooks and decided to look through it before tossing it. What she found was an “I’m Running Away Letter” from our sweet, even tempered daughter. We have no idea when she wrote it, it was within 4 – 5 years ago. My daughter laughs at it now, but she cannot remember what she got in trouble for to write this epic farewell.

As you read this running away letter, and as you are judging my wife and I as parents, in our defense we did teach her to think of others, even in moments of crisis. And I almost got to fulfill my dream of lying to a teacher as an adult.

When I read that, all I can think of is this scene from The Jerk.

Tags: ,

About Zero Brass

Don't Worry About It

4 responses to “The Runaway Note”

  1. Madiantin says :

    That note is so sweet. I want to run away too. Please tell the Sunday School President I’m dead.
    Also….why wasn’t that lamp plugged in? He just picked it up. Didn’t have to unplug it or anything. What’s up with that?

    Like

  2. Anonymous says :

    That note is awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

